Writing Competition winners

DSC_0092On Tuesday 5th of July, the winners of our writing competition, run jointly with The John Bunyan Museum, assembled to receive their prizes from two of the competitions judges, local journalists Sarah Cox (editor of the Beds on Sunday), and Suzanne Dilly (Beds Times and Citizen).

A special prize was also handed over by Chief Executive of the Trust, David Russell, for the winner of the best piece on Sir William Harpur, whilst curator of the John Bunyan Museum Nicola Sherhod awarded a prize for the best piece on John Bunyan.

DSC_0068David said “The writing competition is one of a number of events which we have put on for the town during this our 450th year as a charity for Bedford.  Our hope with this particular project was that it would inspire young writers to research and discover their town’s rich history, and seeing the variety of stories that have come in, it is clear that it has done just that.  Congratulations to all the winners who took part.”

The Prize Winners

5-8 years

1st Prize: Princess Kissindja – Putnoe Primary School, 2nd Prize: Hanna Wegner – Putnoe Primary School, 3rd Prize: Semilore Apesin – Cauldwell School

8-11 years

1st Prize: Amie Currie – Putnoe Primary School, 2nd Prize: Zahra Muraj– Putnoe Primary School, 3rd Prize: Rohit Memhi – Putnoe Primary School, Highly Commended: Aishamarie Jallow – Springfield Lower School

11-14 years

1st Prize: Jess Brooks – Margaret Beaufort Middle School, 2nd Prize: Jamie Williams – Bedford School, 3rd Prize: David Adeyemi – Bedford School, Highly Commended: Emily Jane Palmer – Castle Newnham School

14-18 years

1st Prize: Eddie Tian – Bedford School, 2nd Prize: John Hopcroft – Bedford School, 3rd Prize: Edwin Chan – Bedford School,

The special commendation prizes for the most imaginative reports which featured John Bunyan or Sir William Harpur were awarded to:

Tobiloba Apesin – Cauldwell School

Zahra Muraj – Putnoe Primary School

All prize winners will get to see their work in print, as well as featuring in a special celebration evening at the Quarry Theatre, St Luke’s during the autumn.

Cherry Protheroe, Trustee of Bunyan Meeting, and Chair of the John Bunyan Museum Committee said

“This has been another hugely successful competition for the John Bunyan Museum. We were delighted to be asked to join with the Harpur Trust this year and make the competition part of their 450th anniversary celebrations. Our thanks go to them for providing most of the very generous prizes as well as Waterstones Bedford, for donating two of the prizes.”